In 2020, the presidency of the African Union will pass to the head of the RSA, Cyril Ramaphosa, if he keeps his position after the elections on May 8. According to the French magazine Jeune Afrique, the corresponding decision was made the day before in Addis Ababa at the 32nd summit of the African Union.

Until recently, the president of Rwanda, Paul Kagame, chaired the AU, and now the union is headed by Egyptian President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi. Ramaphosa is his first deputy. Kagame, having left the main post, became the fourth deputy. The second and third deputies are the presidents of Congo Felix Tshisekedi and the head of Niger, Mahamad Issouf.

Upon taking office, the President of Egypt outlined the main areas of his work: infrastructure development, early ratification of the agreement on the African continental free trade zone, new jobs for young people, and the fight against extremism and terrorism.

Among others, the participants of the AU summit were addressed by UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres, Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas, Secretary General of the League of Arab States Ahmed Abu Al Gheith, billionaire Bill Gates, Paul Kagame and Chairman of the AU Commission Moussa Faki Mahamat.

As it is known, the post of the AU chairman successively passes for a year to the representative of one of the five sub-regions of the Black Continent according to the rotation principle. Therefore, after North Africa comes the turn of the South. King Eswatini Mswati III was Ramaphosa’s rival in the struggle for supremacy in the African Union.